The Drawing Tips Thread

Discussion in 'Discussion and Q&A Archive' started by Animemaster, Nov 3, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Animemaster

Animemaster Lets get to work! Member

The Drawing Tips Thread

So, its been awhile since I've really done a topic worth paying attention to. I was drawing a bit the other day, and although I'm not that good at the moment, I'm always finding new tricks to make my art better and better. So what is this thread you may ask? well for those of you talented in art, may or may not want to share some of your tips. Your ideas, the best ways that fits you, to help those along on the art side. I would base this around sonic/genesis art but people can say art in general, drawing by hand etc. I believe no art is perfect, it could be exellent, fantastic or spetacular. But I think there is always a way to improve it, but thats one of the reason why I enjoy art because you can keep making it better and better, and wowing people as you improve. (Actually come to think of it, it may go in the level design thread or whatever.)

So, shall I start off?

One of the most obvious ones is give it some colour variety. If you put a block with one shade of blue, trying blending more shades of blue maybe darker as you work your way down.

Another one is dithering which alot of people will know also. Its away to give it pattern and a good way to blend colours together and give a nice retro design. If this topic stands, i'll provide examples.

Also an obvious.... be original! there is nothing better than coming up with an original design and concept and then delivering fantastic art for people to see.

Last edited by a moderator: Nov 5, 2010
  2. Hanoch

Hanoch Well-Known Member Member

A trick taught by estlib: Take the palettes you have and put them on MS Paint, then start making something in paint, and port them to your hack. You can convert to PCX and put in SonED, or just copy pixel after pixel.

3. Animemaster