Questions regarding my hack I'm making

Discussion in 'Discussion and Q&A Archive' started by Arctiq, Jun 2, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Arctiq

Arctiq OBJECTION! I WILL CROSS EXAMINE THE WITNESS' PET P Member

Hello, everyone! Currently, I am making a hack called Robotniks Last Stand. It's a kind of "boss training" where you have to fight every boss from all the three games: Sonic 1, 2 and 3&K to get prepared for an ultimate enemy. As it stands right now, I am going to be the lead level designer. I have MissArtiste90 (http://www.youtube.com/user/MissArtiste90?feature=g-user-lik) helping me with the music portion of the hack. Check her out on her youtube page too! I was wondering if anyone would be kind enough as to help us with the graphics and the coding portion of the hack. If you are willing to help, leave a reply in the comments, or send me a pm <3! Also I just started hacking a week ago so I'm a complete noob at this stuff :) Also I need as much feedback as possible, just go easy on me, OK? :(

I also have a few questions:

#1: I know it's possible to use SonLVL to convert levels between hacks, but I was wondering how you actually use them in the SonLVL level editor?

#2: Which is easier to hack in? Sonic 1 or Sonic 2? I'm thinking about hacking Sonic 1 but I would have to add the spin dash (which I already failed at trying to do xD)

#3: Is it possible to convert music into a MIDI format, then converting it into a .bin format so that the Genesis can read it?

#4: What type of hacking is easier: ASM hacking or Hex editing? I'm trying to learn ASM right now, though.

2. MarkeyJester

MarkeyJester ♡ ! Member

Well firstly, welcome to SSRG, it's nice to have you here and willing to make something cool, I will say though that your idea has "sorta" been made before, check out Robotnik's Revenge for more details. As for your questions, I'll give em a shot: