Help with hacking Sonic 1 Music

Discussion in 'Discussion and Q&A Archive' started by LucasMadword, Jul 18, 2015.

1. LucasMadword

LucasMadword That one nerd. You know the one. Member

Hello! This is my first time posting on the forums, so I hope I get this all right  :smile:

So, I've been working on a hack, and it is coming along really well. I've done quite a bit of work on it (using the disassembly) and it looks really good! But, I need help with replacing the music in the game.

I found a tutorial by nineko about music hacking using multiple tools. Here is the post. Now, I've gotten to Chapter 3, and found myself scratching my head as to what to do next. The post says to use XM3SMPS to convert the file to the correct format. I've tried XM3SMPS, XM3SMPS/OERG and XM4SMPS, but all of these programs don't work on my system. 3 and 3/OERG don't start at all, and 4 crashes as soon as I import the XM file. 

What should I do? I want to be able to convert music myself (so I can convert it at will, and change it as I see fit), but the programs don't run on my system. I've tried running it on an XP virtual machine, and they don't work on there either. 

Just to clarify: using the default Sonic 1 sound driver along with the Hivebrain disassembler. 

The XM file I am trying to convert: DeviantArt Link.

Thanks,

LucasMadword

Edited for formatting. 

Last edited by a moderator: Jul 18, 2015
  2. LucasMadword

I've decided to use Mid2SMPS instead, and I've been able to convert the file! Nevermind then.

But, I have also decided that I should write my own tutorial for Mid2SMPS as I haven't found one while searching the internet. I think it would be of use for many. 

3. nineko

nineko I am the Holy Cat Member

Well yeah I suggested xm3smps in my tutorial for two reasons, partially because I'm biased towards my own programs. However, any mean to obtain songs in SMPS format will work just fine, be it mid2smps, a port from other games, black magic, direct hex editing, ...