Help with Sonic 2 SMS mappings editing

Discussion in 'Discussion and Q&A Archive' started by Bluestreak, Nov 12, 2016.

1. Bluestreak

Bluestreak Lady in red, living in dread. Member

Hello all. I am very mixed up on what to do about the mappings for Sonic 2 SMS. Whenever I mess with them in Aspect Edit, they turn into a garbled mess. I heard Aspect Edit saves them with the wrong file extension, and so I have to change it in Notepad++. If this is true, what is the extension I need to change it to? (.bin,.asm, et cetera). Is there something better to use that will give me less issues?

2. pixelcat

pixelcat The Holy Cat Jr. Member

Theres a slight quirk in it. You'll need to save mappings in .bin, then EXPORT it to .asm.

That got me too the first time I edited graphics.

3. Bluestreak

How do I do that? Sorry, I am really new to this.

4. pixelcat

pixelcat The Holy Cat Jr. Member

Theres a button on the toolbar that exports it, near the save button.

5. Bluestreak

Thank you so much!! I appreciate it!!

6. Bluestreak

So, I exported the mappings to asm, with the name "mappings32_ghz" . I still have garbled graphics oddly enough. I tried deleting the mapping bin file, only leaving the asm file there, and it would not compile it. I restored the mapping binary, then resaved both a bin AND asm file... I compiled it once more, and still, I have garbled graphics. I don't understand. I exported it as ASM. What happened?

Attached Files:

7. Bluestreak

Starting on Round 4: Crystal Castles now. While it is going to be based on R2 (AKA Relic/Rubble Ruin or Prism Palace) from Sonic CD, I am wondering what the bricks should look like. I have a few ideas from various images on the net.

Reason I am doing this Round right now is because I am stuck on Peridot Palms currently due to some issues and I want to get a demo up and running, so turning Underground into Crystal Castles is my current decision.