Basic Questions and Answers Thread

Discussion in 'Discussion & Q&A' started by Malevolence, Jul 7, 2009.

1. StephenUK

StephenUK Working on a Quackshot disassembly Member

Sega Data Compressor, KENSharp etc. Any compressor available over on the Retro wiki or around here will be able to compress the basic formats.

2. warr1or2

warr1or2 I AM CLG Member

I compressed the .asm mappings to enigma .bin Mappings & it made a garbled mess of the title graphics
    [​IMG]
    If I were to use the Sonic Title art & mappings instead of making a Castlevania logo, how would I go editing it's mappings since SonMapEd won't load this?

3. Devon

Devon Down you're going... down you're going... Member

Assemble the ASM file into a binary file and compress that.

4. FireRat

FireRat Do Not Interact With This User, Anywhere!!! Exiled

I'm not a SMPS expert, but without much time left and focusing on lots of different things at once, I have a weird question. Is there any "updated" or "modern" version of smps2asm_inc, that can be used to generate actual s1smps-compatible files? No changes in the format, only original output.

5. Devon

There's Natsumi's SMPS2ASM, in which you can create a script to export music in the way you want. You are also not limited to the default macro and constant names.

FireRat likes this.
  6. AURORA☆FIELDS

AURORA☆FIELDS so uh yes Exiled

you can just have that smps2asm inc file be included with the asm music and build a ROM which is just the SMPS data. For 68k SMPS drivers this is all you need to do.

AkumaYin likes this.
  7. Clownacy

Clownacy Retired Staff lolololo Member

I think I might be misunderstanding something. Flamewing's SMPS2ASM can already output S1 music. That's what the SonicDriverVer setting is for.

8. warr1or2

warr1or2 I AM CLG Member

no change... maybe I should just try to change the Sonic The Hedgehog title graphics..... Probably Building maps up, export, then edit using paint.net Then overwrite the art... oh well...