Jump to content

  •  

  • Photo

    Basic Questions and Answers Thread


    • Please log in to reply
    2775 replies to this topic

    #991 Animemaster

    Animemaster

      Lets get to work!

    • Pro User
    • 1070 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:UK

    Posted 23 March 2012 - 10:04 PM

    Yes it is possible, to make things simple, open up your project files in notepad/context etc, this will show you all the files used in the project file(s) and all of there locations. All you have to do then is move all of the files over to a brand new untouched disasmebly and you should be fine.

    Edited by Animemaster, 23 March 2012 - 10:04 PM.

    • 0

    #992 NeonMD

    NeonMD

      Newbie

    • Trialist
    • 17 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Interests:My legs hurt.

    Posted 24 March 2012 - 10:16 AM

    Thanks Animemaster! I've gone ahead and transferred the level layouts onto a new disassembly. If a lesson is learnt here, then it's to create more than one back up in case problems like this arise in the future. Many thanks!
    • 0

    #993 Kensou

    Kensou

      2 Chaos Emeralds

    • Member
    • 59 posts

    Posted 26 March 2012 - 07:05 AM

    I was searching yesterday and I couldn't find it. Can someone tell me where the art file of the Lz block that falls is?
    • 0

    #994 Psycho RFG

    Psycho RFG

      4 Chaos Emeralds

    • Member
    • 213 posts
    • Gender:Male

    Posted 26 March 2012 - 11:54 AM

    I was searching yesterday and I couldn't find it. Can someone tell me where the art file of the Lz block that falls is?

    It's not a block exactly, the file is named "lzhdoor.bin" and it's in the artnem folder.
    • 3

    #995 Kensou

    Kensou

      2 Chaos Emeralds

    • Member
    • 59 posts

    Posted 26 March 2012 - 02:26 PM


    I was searching yesterday and I couldn't find it. Can someone tell me where the art file of the Lz block that falls is?

    It's not a block exactly, the file is named "lzhdoor.bin" and it's in the artnem folder.

    Thanks. That's what I was looking for.
    • 0

    #996 dreggman

    dreggman

      Newbie

    • Trialist
    • 11 posts
    • Gender:Male

    Posted 06 April 2012 - 07:33 PM

    hello i am dreggman i am newhere's my question and i may sound stupidhow do i start of with soned2? with sonic 1 i cant get the build.bat to compile the level
    • 0

    #997 Dandaman955

    Dandaman955

      6 Chaos Emeralds

    • Pro User
    • 700 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:North Wales

    Posted 06 April 2012 - 08:50 PM

    Just follow these guides. They're a good starting ground to build on:There are some others, but you're gonna have to follow the link to YouTube and click on the other videos.

    Edited by Dandaman955, 06 April 2012 - 08:51 PM.

    • 0

    #998 dreggman

    dreggman

      Newbie

    • Trialist
    • 11 posts
    • Gender:Male

    Posted 07 April 2012 - 01:20 AM

    i cant bulid the level after save in soned2 (newer version) it always stays unedited am i doing somthing wrong?
    • 0

    #999 Irixion

    Irixion

      6 Chaos Emeralds

    • Pro User
    • 604 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:Ontario, Canada

    Posted 07 April 2012 - 03:33 AM

    Are you saving after you've done your edits? After splitting for the first time, delete S1.bin and split.bat so you don't accidentally open the wrong thing and mess your work up.
    • 0

    #1000 dreggman

    dreggman

      Newbie

    • Trialist
    • 11 posts
    • Gender:Male

    Posted 07 April 2012 - 03:43 AM

    thanks
    • 0

    #1001 Spanner

    Spanner

      Tool

    • Staff
    • 1800 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:United Kingdom

    Posted 07 April 2012 - 11:06 AM

    thanks

    http://sonicresearch.org/forums/index.php?app=forums&module=extras&section=boardrulesHow about you read these too whilst you're at it? One word posts don't fly here along with your quality of typing.
    • 0

    #1002 dreggman

    dreggman

      Newbie

    • Trialist
    • 11 posts
    • Gender:Male

    Posted 07 April 2012 - 05:58 PM

    about the music? how do i add that to sonic 1?.
    • 0

    #1003 Kensou

    Kensou

      2 Chaos Emeralds

    • Member
    • 59 posts

    Posted 12 April 2012 - 03:52 PM

    Maybe is a stupid question but I'm tired of editing tile by tile :P
    Is possible to load the Sonic emblem of the title screen of Sonic 1 in SonMapEd?
    • 0

    #1004 MarkeyJester

    MarkeyJester

      Driving The Last Spike

    • Pro User
    • 1850 posts
    • Gender:Male

    Posted 12 April 2012 - 07:45 PM

    You could load the art at the very least, the problem is, the mappings are for the Mega Drive's "Plane A" display, not for sprites, SonMapEd is designed for sprite map editing and not plane map editing, you should consider checking out this nifty tool:

    http://info.sonicretro.org/PlaneED

    For information on the plane mapping format, check out:

    http://sonicresearch...?showtopic=2199
    • 0

    #1005 Kensou

    Kensou

      2 Chaos Emeralds

    • Member
    • 59 posts

    Posted 13 April 2012 - 07:54 AM

    Thanks Markey! I didn't thought about plane A. Good info.
    • 0

    #1006 ValleyBell

    ValleyBell

      2 Chaos Emeralds

    • Pro User
    • 77 posts
    • Gender:Male

    Posted 24 April 2012 - 09:35 PM

    I've been trying do add some code from the Jman PCM driver tutorial to my hack in order to make the PCM table more readable, but it seems that the macro assembler doesn't support some of the macros.
    I'm using the Sonic 2 disassembly by Xenowhirl.

    ; ===========================================================================
    
    PCM:	macro   Pitch, Location
    
    	    dc.w	(((((Location&$000000FF)<<$08)+((Location&$00007F00)>>$08))!$0080)&$FFFF)
    
    	    dc.w	(((((((Location_End-$02)-Location)&$000000FF)<<$08)+((((Location_End-$02)-Location)&$00007F00)>>$08))/$02)&$FFFF)
    
    		dc.b	Pitch
    
    		dc.b	((Location&$00008000)>>$08)
    
    		dc.b	((Location&$003F0000)>>$10)
    
    		dc.b	$00
    
    		even
    
    				endm
    
    ; ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
    
    incpcm: macro   File
    
    File:		   binclude  "sound/DAC/File.bin"
    
       			 dc.b	$80,$80
    
    File_End:	   even
    
       	 endm
    
    NULL:
    
    NULL_End:
    
    ; ===========================================================================
    
    
    
    PCM_Table:
    
    		   	 PCM	 $19, BassDrum						   ; 81
    
    
    
    ; ===========================================================================
    
    
    
    		   	 incpcm  BassDrum
    When trying to build it, I errors about BASSDRUM_End not being defined, so including the file works. It is correct that there are no backslashes, btw. The macro assmebler doesn't need them.
    It works perfectly, if I add
    BassDrum_End:
    after the incpcm command, but that's not the intention of the incpcm macro.

    So I know that it fails to convert the label File_End to BassDrum_End in the incpcm macro. It works however in the PCM macro.

    Any ideas how I could get this to work correctly?
    If nothing works, I'll make a workaround and add an additional argument to the incpcm macro. (like incpcm BassDrum, BassDrum_End)

    Edited by ValleyBell, 25 April 2012 - 06:29 AM.

    • 0

    #1007 MarkeyJester

    MarkeyJester

      Driving The Last Spike

    • Pro User
    • 1850 posts
    • Gender:Male

    Posted 24 April 2012 - 09:57 PM

    The reason why asm68k needed the backwards slashes was so that it knew it was suppose to print the passed word as a "string of characters" rather than a "pointer to an address", the point in the macro was to make it easier to include a wav file into the source whilst removing the header, and making sure it's aligned and kept within the 8000 byte banks jman's driver insists on limiting to.

    As your samples don't have a header, and as it seems you do not require keeping them in banks, it seems that the macro for the "incpcm" has virtually no use at all, I mean... writing out:

    SampleTwo	binclude	"Filename"
    
    SampleTwo_End:

    Is no difficult that writing out:

    incpcm		Filename

    The "PCM" macro is also to no use, due to lack of backwards slashes, again, they were needed, an example:

    dc.w	Location_End

    The word Location will be replaced with the string of the sample's name, so if the sample were called "SampleTwo", the assembler would convert it to:

    dc.l	SampleTwo_End

    Before assembling, without the backward slashes, it would assume that it's just words to be assembled and nothing more:

    dc.l	Location_End

    Unless you "add" a Location_End to the macro:

    PCM:	macro   Pitch, Location, Location_End

    And pass the end location as well.
    • 0

    #1008 ValleyBell

    ValleyBell

      2 Chaos Emeralds

    • Pro User
    • 77 posts
    • Gender:Male

    Posted 25 April 2012 - 06:34 AM

    I understood what the backslashes are supposed to do.
    And the PCM macro is of use. It correctly converts Location_End to BassDrum_End in dc.x commands, even without backslashes, else I would get an error about Location_End not being defined. (not about BASSDRUM_End)
    I just surprised me that it works in the dc.b/w commands, but not when defining a label.

    Thanks anyway.


    After some fiddling around (and reading the manual), I figured it out how it works:
    incpcm:         macro   File
    
    File:           LABEL *
    
                            binclude  "sound/DAC/File.dec"
    
                            dc.b    $80,$80
    
    File_End:       LABEL *
    
                            even
    
                    endm
    In AS labels in macros are local by default. LABEL * makes them global.

    btw: AS has no filesize() function, so I can't have use it anyway.
    • 0




    0 user(s) are reading this topic

    0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users