Jump to content

  •  

  • Photo

    Notice Regarding Qjimbo's Absense


    • Please log in to reply
    9 replies to this topic

    #1 Spanner

    Spanner

      Tool

    • Staff
    • 1797 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:United Kingdom

    Posted 06 June 2011 - 09:33 PM

    Please note that Qjimbo will be unavailable for a few weeks due to a motherboard failure, thanks to dodgy memory. This will be dealt with in a few weeks, and Jim should be back to normal by then. In the meantime, any new features to the SSRG may be delayed for a while.

    Just letting you know, the show must go on!
    • 0

    #2 Blazefirelp

    Blazefirelp

      Spiritualistic Spriter....Wait what?

    • Member
    • 209 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:England
    • Interests:Games, Sonic Hacking and programming. Spriting for myself and other peoples projects.

    Posted 07 June 2011 - 05:39 PM

    Thanks for letting us know. I've been trying to contact him too. Now I know why. :)
    • 0

    #3 MicroChirp

    MicroChirp

      Wow, I was so stupid a few years ago...

    • Member
    • 366 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:In the middle of nowhere

    Posted 07 June 2011 - 05:52 PM

    Yeah, thanks for saying us, I don't need him for now, but it's good to know.
    • 0

    #4 Qjimbo

    Qjimbo

      7 Chaos Emeralds

    • Pro User
    • 813 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:Vancouver, BC
    • Interests:Webdesign, HTML, PHP,
      Programming, Delphi, C++

    Posted 21 June 2011 - 06:13 PM

    Got a new motherboard yesterday (finally) so I'll soon be able to spend more time on here once I finish setting everything up.
    • 0

    #5 Spanner

    Spanner

      Tool

    • Staff
    • 1797 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:United Kingdom

    Posted 21 June 2011 - 06:24 PM

    Got a new motherboard yesterday (finally) so I'll soon be able to spend more time on here once I finish setting everything up.

    What one did you get this time? Also, I hope you don't have any more dodgy memory.
    • 0

    #6 Qjimbo

    Qjimbo

      7 Chaos Emeralds

    • Pro User
    • 813 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:Vancouver, BC
    • Interests:Webdesign, HTML, PHP,
      Programming, Delphi, C++

    Posted 21 June 2011 - 10:47 PM

    Nothing fancy, just a gigabyte g41mt-d3v.
    • 0

    #7 Striker

    Striker

      IT Geek

    • Pro User
    • 93 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:North East US

    Posted 22 June 2011 - 01:25 AM

    Not a bad choice at all. LGA 775 is still a good socket and DDR3 support. Still a respectful setup by today's standards. What brand of memory did you have the problem with and what CPU are you using?
    • 0

    #8 Qjimbo

    Qjimbo

      7 Chaos Emeralds

    • Pro User
    • 813 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:Vancouver, BC
    • Interests:Webdesign, HTML, PHP,
      Programming, Delphi, C++

    Posted 22 June 2011 - 04:14 PM

    It was Kingston RAM, not the value stuff either. It was obviously faulty and the guy from Craigslist just pawned it off on me and it ended up wrecking the Motherboard.

    I have to get some DDR3 RAM today or tomorrow. Probably going to get this Corsair 4GB stick as $35 is pretty damn reasonable.
    • 0

    #9 OrdosAlpha

    OrdosAlpha

      Battle to the death on the big bridge, bitch?

    • Administrator
    • 1526 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:Glasgow, Scotland

    Posted 22 June 2011 - 10:38 PM

    I'd go for the Corsair XMS3 RAM module myself, only about 6 bucks more.
    • 0

    #10 Qjimbo

    Qjimbo

      7 Chaos Emeralds

    • Pro User
    • 813 posts
    • Gender:Male
    • Location:Vancouver, BC
    • Interests:Webdesign, HTML, PHP,
      Programming, Delphi, C++

    Posted 23 June 2011 - 08:19 PM

    Didn't see your post Ordos, already got the other Corsair stick and it seems great, much faster than my old DDR2 667mhz stuff anyway :)
    • 0




    0 user(s) are reading this topic

    0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users