2 Sonic 1 Hacking Questions

Discussion in 'Discussion and Q&A Archive' started by ZennorHax, Feb 13, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ZennorHax

ZennorHax Newcomer Trialist

Okay sorry- I suck at hacking.[​IMG]

[​IMG]  Question 1: How would I port a Sonic CD spindash?

Simple as the title states. How would I port a Sonic CD Styled Spindash to Sonic 1? I noticed how virtually no hacks use that kind of spindash, also I liked that spindash unlike most people.

I don't want to grab too much code from other games since i'm that kind of person who can't download too much on my 400 Dollar laptop or else it will explode.

[​IMG]Question 2: Sonic 3 Sprites for Sonic 1?

How would I port the Sonic 3 Sprites (Just for Sonic)? I can't use Sonik Sprite due to a lack of that ONE DDL file... I hate that file. So is there any way to port those over? I want to try porting them over... If it's possible.

Sorry for being that guy who questions things alot. I'm new to asm. Also, sorry for the overuse of gifs , I just like how it helps decorate posts.

2. Shockwave

Shockwave 3 Time Stones Member

1. You can follow the guide on the Retro wiki for porting the S2 spindash. Afterwards, you can modify it to function like the on in SCD by using a new animation with Sonic's rolling frames instead of the standard spindash frames, and having the spindash routine run a timer that makes Sonic stay in place instead of charging forward if down hasn't been held long enough. You could also have it check for a later frame in the spindash animation instead if you want to save one of Sonic's SSTs.