MaternalBound - Earthbound to Mother 2 hack.

Discussion in 'Showroom Archive' started by ShadowOne, Feb 19, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ShadowOne

ShadowOne Newcomer Member

Good day, SSRG community!

I know that this forum has a focus for Sonic related hacks, but I wanted to present to you a hack in which I've been working for the last 2 months.

NOTE: Before you continue reading this post, I would like to ask for some ASM help in a particular glitch.
    More on that at the end of the post.

MaternalBound

[​IMG][​IMG]

The main focus of this hack is to give the Mother/Earthbound franchise fans a proper american version of Mother 2.

What differences are there between Mother 2 and Earthbound? Aren't they the same game?

Well... Not exactly.
    The final release of EarthBound had many censorship inclusions.

My hack provides an uncensored version of EarthBound, and also changes text and graphics to reflect that of Mother 2, but preserving american references/jokes/names.

I only changed some names for the sake of continuity with Mother and Mother 3, like Porky.

[​IMG]
    It even includes a custom Gas Station Screen and a proper "Mother 2" title screen!
    No longer will this game be called EarthBound, but rather an american version of Mother 2!

[​IMG]
     ​
    If you want to read a more in-depth explanation of the changes done in this hack, click on the following link:

http://forum.starmen.net/forum/Community/PKHack/WIP-MaternalBound-Uncensoring-Other-junk-hack/page/1/

The thread in that link explains everything:

• Graphics modified to match Mother 2.
    • Text changed according to Tomato's "Legends of Localization" website topic for EarthBound.
    • Additional implementations (Hidden NPCs, Run Button Patch)
    • Cast Sequence text modified to match new names.
    • Gas Station screen modified.
    • Typos/grammatical errors of the original game have been fixed.