Cycle accurate emulation: Exodus 2.0 + Open Source Release

Discussion in 'Discussion and Q&A Archive' started by Nemesis, May 8, 2015.

1. Nemesis

Nemesis Newcomer Member

Hello everyone, hard to believe I didn't have an account here. Has it really been that long? I remember the first SSRG. It's good to see a few familiar names around here. Anyway, enough nostalgia.

You may or may not have heard about Exodus. Exodus is a generic and extensible emulation platform I have been developing for almost 9 years now, which aims to support cycle-level accuracy in emulation, combined with powerful debugging and development tools. Unlike other emulators which are statically compiled to support a particular set of systems, Exodus is open an extensible, with every emulation core supplied through plugins. The platform itself constructs systems from an XML definition of the connections between individual components in the system. This design allows the emulator itself to focus on managing the timing and interaction between the components, and allows the emulation cores to be totally modular and reusable in other systems that share the same components. A lot more information about this is available on the website.