My GH1 Level Design

Discussion in 'Showroom Archive' started by Jami393, Jan 24, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jami393

Jami393 Active Member Member

Right I'm just a beginner at everything at Sonic 1 hacking, but I just did a new GH1 level design for Sonic 1. And I just wanted to see what people thought of it, for a newbie.

Here's the link http://www.megaupload.com/?d=3F1UYZCM . Also for some stupid reason the Sega sound at the title has gone static could someone help me out with that please.

Also in the level, there is hardly any badniks or rings or anything like that, I'm just paying attention to the main level for now.

EDIT: I have changed the link because I uploaded the wrong file.

Last edited by a moderator: Jan 24, 2010
  2. vladikcomper

vladikcomper Well-Known Member Member

I've played this hack, but couldn't see any layout changes as well as static noise in Sega sound. It seems to be just a clean ROM.

I just opened the archive and saw "s1.bin" instead of "s1build.bin". This means you've uploaded the wrong file.

As for Sega sound, there is a guide about fixing it: http://info.sonicretro.org/SCHG_How-to:Fix_the_SEGA_Sound

3. SaunicBoom

SaunicBoom Well-Known Member Member

After trying out the layouts to Acts 1 and 2, there are a few things I'll point out that could use some improvement...

- I found myself running into spikes after going through the S-Tubes which isn't a good thing. The last thing you want players to feel is annoyed after playing a level by setting up traps they'll most certainly run into.

- I noticed that a few chunks throughout both acts didn't sit well next to each other. I would sometimes run straight through what I thought would be a solid wall which in the end would lead me straight into a pitfall.