swapping ghz boss with syz boss

Discussion in 'Discussion and Q&A Archive' started by liamsonichacker, Jul 8, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. liamsonichacker

liamsonichacker Mad Level Skillz ;) Member

I really want to be able to put the boss of green hill zone into spring yard zone and vice versa. so if anyone knows how to do so, can they tell me how.

thanks

2. MikeTH

MikeTH Active Member Member

With something like that you'd probably need to find where GHZ's, and SYZ's boss codes are and swap them. Please backup your Rom before doing this though, as I have little experience with ASM.

Last edited by a moderator: Jul 8, 2009
  3. Malevolence

Malevolence Well-Known Member Member

Bosses in Sonic 1 are loaded via the Dynamic Level Events (labeled resize_zone) which basically check if the camera has gotten to a certain position X-wise. If it has then a bunch of things happen; the boss is loaded, PLCs are loaded, the boss music is loaded and the screen is locked (all that plus the boss's position is loaded in some cases and the in the case of the SYZ boss, the blocks are loaded as well IIRC).

Now, if you wanted to switch bosses, not only will you have to switch ids and positions in DLEs (not really hard), but you're also going to have to go through all of the boss's code and change each time it checks for a position. What's meant by that is when bosses move they know to stop depending if they have gotten to a certain position in the level, whether it be from cmp.w #$2000,8(a0) or cmp.w #$2000,$30(a0) (a copy of the X coordinate for bosses in sonic 1, used when updating positions with bossmove and making it appear to 'float'). Now, in each boss there are quite a few of those which are designed for each level's specific coordinates that the boss is in.