checkpoint monitor

Discussion in 'Discussion and Q&A Archive' started by liamsonichacker, Jul 6, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. liamsonichacker

liamsonichacker Mad Level Skillz ;) Member

I am trying to make a monitor that acts like a checkpoint, but when I do so, all it does it take my rings, any help here, this is my code, I am very new to this so yes I aint exactly smart with asm.

Obj2E_ChkS:
    cmpi.b #7,d0 ; does monitor contain 'S'

jmp Cont_GotoLevel ; start from monitor

jmp (playsound).l

thanks for your help in advance.

Last edited by a moderator: Jul 6, 2010
  2. MarkeyJester

MarkeyJester ♡ ! Member

"Good evening ladies and gentlemen to another night of the "Jester Show", tonight my guests are beq, bne, blt, ble, bgt and bge."

I would suggest you search google for an MC68000 programmers manual, it's very helpful to have one around if you get stuck in a situation like this one. Try some of the below...

beq (branch if equal)

If 07 is in d0, it will branch, if it is not 07, it will not branch and will continue as normal.

cmp.b #$07,d0 ; is 07 in d0?

beq.s Cont_GotoLevel ; if so, branch to "Cont_GotoLevel"

; otherwise, continue down

bne (branch if not equal)

If 07 is NOT in d0, it will branch, if it is infact 07, it will not branch.

cmp.b #$07,d0 ; is 07 in d0?

bne.s Cont_GotoLevel ; if not, branch to "Cont_GotoLevel"

blt (branch if lower than)

If d0 is lower than 07 (if it's 06 or 05, etc), it will branch, if it is 07 or higher, it will not branch.

cmp.b #$07,d0 ; is there a value lower than 07 in d0?

blt.s Cont_GotoLevel ; if so, branch to "Cont_GotoLevel"

ble (branch if lower or equal to)

If d0 is 07 or lower, it will branch, if it is higher that 07 (i.e. 08, 09, etc), it will not branch.

cmp.b #$07,d0 ; is there a value 07 or lower in d0?

ble.s Cont_GotoLevel ; if so, branch to "Cont_GotoLevel"

bgt (branch if greater than)