Sonic The Hedgehog 2 Music Hacking?

Discussion in 'Discussion and Q&A Archive' started by Bluesfire, May 29, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bluesfire

Bluesfire Will Hack For Food. Member

Hello, SSRG. I am new here, and recently begun a hack of Sonic 2. It is coming along great! I have most of EHZ act one completely customized, new pallet, level layout, everything is looking nice. But once things begin to look nice, they need to sound nice too right? My EHZ is now "Ice Paradise Zone", and I have the music to fit. But, it is a midi. and since I am new to the hacking community, I was hoping I could get some help on putting said midi in place of EHZ's music. I can make it a mp3 or wav if necessary. I am using the 2007 Disassembly. I am hoping there is some sort of easy to use tool, I tried Sonic QX and was lost, even with a tutorial. I turned the midi into an XM with Midi2XM, and attempted to use XM4SMPS. It is very confusing.

EDIT:So, I also was using Sonik Sprite to change sprites, like giving Sonic and Tails modifications like mouths and such. But I wasn't aware that after modifying the level layout with SonLVL (ASM editing) Sonik Sprite would stop working. Is there any way I can finish modifying my sprites without completely reworking my new level layouts?

EDIT 2: Figured out how to do the sprites without redoing my level layout. It was simple once I thought about it a little bit.

Thank you all.

-Bluesfire

Last edited by a moderator: May 30, 2012
  2. MarkeyJester

MarkeyJester ♡ ! Member