Sonic Hacking Contest 2019

Discussion in 'Discussion & Q&A' started by Spanner, Mar 12, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. redhotsonic

    redhotsonic Also known as RHS Retired Staff

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,969
    Location:
    England
    The Official Sonic Hacking Contest 2019 Trailer is now LIVE!

     
  2. Animemaster

    Animemaster Lets get to work! Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,229
    Location:
    UK
    Looking forward to streaming then entries.
     
    MarkeyJester and FохConED like this.
  3. Giovanni

    Giovanni Well-Known Member Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Messages:
    120
    Location:
    Vercelli, Italy
    I swear I can NOT wait for the Contest Week. Everything I've seen in the trailer looks amazing. The hype is real.
    Also, thanks to Team AE for bringing back one of my favorite hacks from when I was younger! Can't wait to play especially that!
     
  4. Spanner

    Spanner The Tool Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,411
    We begin streaming today with a few pre-shows, to get you hyped up for the week ahead, expect some old entries and for mine, you'll see a few new ones too:

    5pm GMT / 12pm EST / 9am PST to 7pm GMT / 2pm EST / 11am PST - Donnie
    7pm GMT / 2pm EST / 11am PST to 11pm GMT / 6pm EST / 3pm PST - Spanner

    The full schedule for the week will be posted later, just waiting on a stream image to get patched up due to some last minute rescheduling being required.

    We'll have all the streams for the week be available on the website but as there's some fixes needed before we start the week, I have provided direct links to the streams.

    The Contest Week begins on Monday and that is when you can play all of the 2019 entries. But like I said, if you want a preview of the week ahead, join my stream, you will not be disappointed.
     
  5. Nick46

    Nick46 The Intelligent Idiot Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Texas
    This is definitely shaping up to look like a fantastic year. So many entries that look very promising, can't wait to start covering them.
     
    Angel X likes this.
  6. Spanner

    Spanner The Tool Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,411
    This year's stream schedule is now available...sorry for the delay however we had some last minute adjustments to do as AntDude could no longer stream this week.

    The website will open around 7am EST this year if not earlier, when Cinossu is ready to go live I'm sure he'll post in here that it's up.

    Until then, please be patient, there is no long left to go now before the annual Contest Week begins.

    On a personal note, thanks to all who attended my own pre-show stream which lasted well over nine hours and was enjoyed by many.

    I have not streamed personally or in a SHC capacity since 2016, and it was good to be able to play a wide variety of old entries (and a few new too), including many 3D games too.
     
    Angel X and rika_chou like this.
  7. TogeFIzz

    TogeFIzz Newcomer Trialist

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    I'll be playing all the Mega Drive ROM Hacks tonight! First time I've ever seen the SHC live!
     
  8. Angel X

    Angel X Active Member Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    Italy
    The most beautiful thing is that today is my birthday and this is the best gift!
    I can't wait to try the entries tonight:D
     
    KosmoF likes this.
  9. KosmoF

    KosmoF Masochistic epileptic FEMALE gamer! Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    85
    Location:
    Inverkeithing, Scotland
    7 am EST? That's what... 12 pm GMT?
     
  10. MGHACKS

    MGHACKS Hey there! Bet you didn't find me around Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2019
    Messages:
    57
    Yup, 14 mins and counting...
     
    KosmoF likes this.
  11. KosmoF

    KosmoF Masochistic epileptic FEMALE gamer! Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    85
    Location:
    Inverkeithing, Scotland
    Thank you!
     
  12. KosmoF

    KosmoF Masochistic epileptic FEMALE gamer! Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    85
    Location:
    Inverkeithing, Scotland
    Happy Birthday, Angel.
     
    Angel X likes this.
  13. Cinossu

    Cinossu A blend of secret herbs and spices Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    278
    Location:
    London, UK
    Hey, it's that time again. We're finally live, and the Contest Week begins.

    https://sonichacking.org

    All entries that were completed are now available for your public viewing, as well as votes in the case of the Contest itself.

    As always, enjoy!
     
    ProjectFM and Angel X like this.
  14. Spanner

    Spanner The Tool Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,411
    Hello, here is today's stream schedule. Don't forget if you are voting, remember if you have an account last year, you need to reset your password, and check your spam folder for the email.

    Also remember when voting, please don't vote for an entry which it is not entitled to have said trophy. This year we have filtered some entries to avoid this, but not all due to time constraints.

    An example of this would be voting SA2 Blazy Mix for Best Audio for 3D, when the only custom audio consists of Blaze voice clips. Best Audio is more to do with custom music, rather than voice clips.
     
  15. Spanner

    Spanner The Tool Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,411
    Here is the stream schedule for Thursday to Friday, as the original link from Monday onwards is broken and omits anything after Wednesday.

    Apologies if YouTube streams don't show up on the website at times - there is a known fault with the API and we have to manually push out those streams to the site, unlike previous years where streams popped up without much trouble. If a stream does not appear please let us know on Discord so someone can take care of that. Twitch streams are unaffected. Hopefully YouTube fixes this for next year.

    Also please submit your evaluations in for the Contest Week overall. The sooner we can get the evaluations all in, the quicker we can announce next year's Contest.
     
  16. Sewer56

    Sewer56 Newcomer Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Following some feedback regarding mandatory questions, the Evaluation Form was changed so that only the first three responses (overall thoughts, best thing, worst thing) are required.

    Any other question, if you do not have an answer, leave it blank. We want as much feedback as possible so we can fix what is needed for SHC2020.
    There's still a few days left of the Contest Week, but if you have answers to fill in, do so at https://forms.gle/9jj16gLaxUY2eqbZ8
     
    ProjectFM likes this.
  17. ProjectFM

    ProjectFM Optimistic and self-dependent Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2014
    Messages:
    802
    Location:
    Portland, Maine

    It's amazing how this guy is able to make such a funny, high quality, scripted and edited video in the four days these hacks have been available.
     
  18. Spanner

    Spanner The Tool Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,411
  19. Sewer56

    Sewer56 Newcomer Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    PSA
    (Don't you love when this acronym is abused outside of its intended meaning?)

    The Contest Week Ends Tomorrow! (Sunday 7th of December)

    If you haven't already, please get your votes in ASAP. We have no guarantee how long voting will be available tomorrow before the results show.
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2019 at 8:20 PM
  20. Spanner

    Spanner The Tool Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,411
    There is still time to complete your voting for the Community Trophies, but TIME IS RUNNING OUT!

    There'll still be SOME TIME on Sunday to finish voting, but when the voting is locked, at least a few hours before the results show, you won't be able to vote any more.

    As usual it'll be streamed by MegaGWolf and also simulcast by TailsChannel, and this year it's Donnie who will be announcing the winners.

    We'll also have a bunch of judges and some other guests on the show too! Also, don't forget, we do need your feedback. Fill out this form as we will be closing it in the next few days. Without your feedback, changes can't happen so easily. And we don't want to spend months planning things, we want to get things fixed up and ready to go for 2020. Just click on that Feedback button!

    The Results Show starts from 8pm GMT / 3pm EST / 12pm PST, where all the winners will be announced.

    Winners will also be announced on Twitter and all the results will be in forum threads and news articles after the end of the Results Show. And after the results show, there's a few more streams left to finish it off.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.