Sonic the Hedgehog Hacking Contest 2017

Discussion in 'Discussion & Q&A' started by Ayla, Dec 16, 2016.

  1. Animemaster

    Animemaster Lets get to work! Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,221
    Location:
    UK
    I'm not entering this year, but good luck to those who are.
     
    AkumaYin likes this.
  2. Clownacy

    Clownacy UP - ON - CPU Staff

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Messages:
    743
    Location:
    Englandland
    Copypaste from the website:

    Just a reminder that we close submissions to the Hack Expo at the end of Sunday 12th November at Midnight EST. Get your submissions and updates in by this deadline.

    Make sure that you have everything uploaded and make sure that your entry passes the Quality Control Criteria, as those that don't will be removed altogether. A list of all entries will be put up on Monday provided there aren't any delays with the quality checks, but failing that it will be out during the week.

    You will be able to download all Contest and Expo submissions at the Contest Week of Monday 20th to Sunday 26th November. Sign up for an account to be able to vote for the Community Trophies, applicable to Contest entries only.
     
  3. Burst

    Burst Your soul is looking great today. Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Messages:
    321
    Location:
    Mitakihara
    Well, I honestly cannot wait to see the Expo list aswell. I'm excited to see what hacks entered this year - and if my hack actually passed the quality control criteria. (Hey, first time writing this word correctly. xD)

    But seriously, I'm excited. I have a pretty good feeling for this year's Hacking Contest.
     
    BigBaldBeast likes this.
  4. Darío

    Darío Newcomer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Hello everyone.

    Just want to remind you all that the deadline for the Hack Expo is tonight at Midnight EST, so make sure to get your submissions and updates in before then. Your submission must have a playable build with media to be in the Hack Expo.
     
    Egor The Cat likes this.
  5. Spanner

    Spanner Sonic Hacking Contest Lead Organiser Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,175
    Here is the lineup for the Hack Expo. Obviously bear in mind that these entries are not judged and therefore there may be the occasional entry that may not interest you that much or be of a lower quality than the usual standard. Only one entry was thrown out, the rest are good for show. And yes, you may notice a certain entry in this. The fact that we were able to get that in is quite remarkable for the Hack Expo, you should enjoy all the entries on show this year.
    1. Sonic the Hedgehog Bania: Gold! Edition ~ Promotional Demo by Royameadow
    2. SADX Physics Swap Mod by MainMemory
    3. SA2 Physics Swap Mod by MainMemory
    4. Mario Mania by metalkingboo
    5. Sonic.EXE Mania by haloarbiter117
    6. Spider-Hog Mania by PotterAndMatrixFan
    7. S3K/SKC Random Special Stages by MainMemory
    8. S3K Mania Special Stages by MainMemory
    9. SADX SMPS Mod by MainMemory
    10. Mania SMPS Mod by MainMemory
    11. Mania Random Bonus Mod by MainMemory
    12. Sonic 2 Fine2uned by Clownacy
    13. Sonic: The Return of Shadow by JoenickROS
    14. Sonic 1: Terra Night by SonicBurst
    15. Sonic's Fun and Easy Adventure by Novedicus
    16. Sticks by Slashy
    17. Sonic Limbo by lordxernom
    18. Aurora Garden (Sonic Mania) by AeroArtwork
    19. Sonic 3D Blast Director's Cut (BETA) by gamehut
    20. Super Sonic & Hyper Sonic in Sonic 1 by Clownacy
    21. Sonic Lost World - Snowball Joyride by Dario
    22. Sonic Generations - Classic Green Hill Zone Forces WIP by TwilightZoney
    23. World 1-1 in Sonic Mania by AeroArtwork
    You will be able to play ALL of these entries from Monday 20th November on the website, but remember that these will NOT be eligible for Community Trophies or standard judging.
     
  6. TheStoneBanana

    TheStoneBanana The Bananaman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    588
    Location:
    The Milky Way Galaxy
    You mean "Sonic's Fun and Easy Adventure"?
    I know, I'm quite surprised about that one too.
     
    CHRdutch, Ozaleto, AkumaYin and 4 others like this.
  7. Novedicus

    Novedicus All I wish is gone away... Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    715
    You dick. :V

    Obviously, he meant Sonic.EXE Mania!
     
    Natsumi, A-S-H and AkumaYin like this.
  8. jubbalub

    jubbalub Well-Known Member Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2014
    Messages:
    246
    Hot damn that's a lot of Mania mods.
     
  9. ProjectFM

    ProjectFM Optimistic and self-dependent Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2014
    Messages:
    648
    Location:
    Portland, Maine
    I can't get over how cool it is that the founder of Traveller's Tales is putting a remastered version of one of his games in our Expo. It really shows how influential this community is, despite it being pretty small (or maybe it isn't. I don't have much to compare it to).

    Anyway, I can't wait to see these hacks in action.
     
  10. KriegerZeta

    KriegerZeta Newcomer Trialist

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Somewhere In Quebec, Canada.
    It is as I thought. The games of this year would impact the fan games/hacks/mods in massive and multiple ways, just like with Sonic Generations. And, it is only the beginning. *evil laughter*
     
  11. BigBaldBeast

    BigBaldBeast Newcomer Trialist

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Nowhere, I kidding, in Death Egg
    I'm in love with this Contest and this Expo, but wow, that's a lot of Mania's mods, and 3D Sonic's mods, I can't will play them, I don't even know how this function. :/

    Well, that's not all, and that's just the Expo after all, and there' still MegaGenesis Roms Hack, hehe !

    That year is good for the Rom Hacking universe.
     
    FireRat likes this.
  12. Narcologer

    Narcologer Hell angel Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2015
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    Robotropolis
    Looks like 40-50% of entries at minimum in next year's contest will be Mania mods. Mania modding is just starting to take off, but it is seeming to me that ... ah, nevermind.
     
    BigBaldBeast and AkumaYin like this.
  13. Spanner

    Spanner Sonic Hacking Contest Lead Organiser Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,175
  14. Spanner

    Spanner Sonic Hacking Contest Lead Organiser Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,175
    [​IMG]

    The Contest Week has started, you can now download all the entries from the Hacking Contest and Hack Expo, and be able to vote on the Community Trophies too.

    At the time of publishing, the comments section isn't up yet but it will be soon.

    All you need to vote is sign up for an account - you do not need to be verified to do this.

    Here are the streams happening on Monday:
    7pm GMT / 2pm EST / 11am PST: redhotsonic
    9pm GMT / 4pm EST / 1pm PST: MegaGWolf
    12am GMT / 7pm EST / 4pm PST: SomecallmeJohnny
    5:30am GMT / 12:30am EST / 9:30pm PST (wrongly said as 7:30pm PST in the above image, whoops): The Geek Critique


    If you run into any issues, join the Discord server and report them in the #site_issues channel. You can join Discord by clicking on the Discord logo at the bottom of the website.
     
    AkumaYin, B. Casais, Xernom and 2 others like this.
  15. SuperEgg

    SuperEgg I'm a guy that knows that you know that I know Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    Location:
    THE BEST GOD DAMN STATE OF TEXAS