BakaSonic

Discussion in 'Showroom Archive' started by โบวี่, Dec 27, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. โบวี่

โบวี่ Tsingtao Enjoyer Member

Well... How should I begin this post...?

First of all I should probably say what this entry is.
    BakaSonic is a ROM hack of the original Sonic The Hedgehog game for the Sega Mega Drive. I've been working on and off of it for about 2 years. Taking month breaks from it whenever life gets in the way, which happened quite a bit the last couple years. But recently I got tired of working with the hack. Tired of being unskilled, not being able to do anything hacking-wise besides stuff dealing with music and art. The only coding I did in this build of the game had to do with stuff that followed tutorials and some rather minor things.

I just cannot bring myself to learn how to deal with code. I think it may be due to my short attention span. Believe me, I tried to get into leaning ASM68k many times between 2013 and present day. I just get frustrated and fail at whatever I try to do. I'm really ashamed of this and makes me feel useless in a community such as this. The hacking community's "if you make anything other than perfect, then it's a bad romhack" attitude is also kinda putting a lot of pressure on me too.

There are many bugs in this hack. I am well aware of this, and due to my lack of skill with ASM code, I am unable to fix these issues. So if you report any glitches or anything else, the issues may not be fixed. I'm releasing this hack "as is". And it may or may not be continued to be worked on. I apologize for any inconveniences.

All the music in the game was composed by or recreated by ear by me, Bakayote. I'll leave a track listing at the bottom of the post. And yes. There are only 2 Zones in this version of the game, there was to be 4 planned in the final product, but I'm not sure if I have the patience to do that anymore.