Patreon for The Chaos Layer?

Discussion in 'Discussion and Q&A Archive' started by MarkeyJester, Nov 8, 2015.

1. MarkeyJester

MarkeyJester ♡ ! Member

Many of you may remember The Chaos Layer, a homebrew game I was initially making for the SEGA Mega Drive.  Well, I wasn't able to finish it, likewise, many of the hacks I've made in the past have been incomplete (Pana Der Hejhog, Next Level, BroTro, etc), and this is strictly because I have to work to keep myself alive, and my work is excessively physical.  I don't work in some office somewhere as a programmer, I work in a Deli factory, probably the worst deli factory in the country, due to negligence and stupidity of the corperation who have ran us into the ground pushing and pushing, and so, I am frequently too tired to do anything in my own spare time, such as, making the damn games/hacks you guys tend to enjoy.

So I was looking into a Patreon, initially I was looking towards a proper full Sonic hack, but I was led to (and reminded of) Stealth's incident and with the advice of the fellows in the IRC channel, came to the conclusion that it's probably not such a good idea (not just because of the response to Stealth's suggestive Patreon, but legal reasons also).  I was advised that maybe I could throw up The Chaos Layer for one, and continue working on that.  I would love to come back to it, restructure the engine (again) and proceed it further than before.  It was always tiredness that got in the way, but if I gained enough finance to cover my rent at least, I'd be able to spend 100% of my time on it, without outside issues getting in the way.

I'm also interested in your views and any experience you may have with Patreon, I've never done something like this before, so I don't want to go throwing it up there to find there are consiquences I was unaware of.

2. redhotsonic

redhotsonic Also known as RHS Member

Depends.  First of all, I want Chu Chu Rocket MD! =P