Please Help with SonMapEd?

Discussion in 'Discussion and Q&A Archive' started by LXG, Jul 6, 2015.

1. LXG

LXG Newcomer Trialist

I am trying to edit the goalpost in Sonic 3 & Knuckles using the "Load from ROM" option. I can't seem to figure out how to make the sprites for the goalpost look normal so I can edit it. I have a few questions.

1. How do I make it look like the full goalpost?

2. How would I edit it or change its colors?

I am really new to this so it would be very appreciated if I could have some help. Thanks!

Untitled.png

2. M.N.K.

M.N.K. In the River of Darkness... Member

If it's anything like how It is in both sonic 1 or sonic 2, There should at least be a part within the rom that loads the mappings for the goal post. I never actually tried before but I figured that there should be some kind of mappings stored within it. as for the colors, you could use a palette editing program for that. it may not be much but i'm just trying to help.

3. redhotsonic

redhotsonic Also known as RHS Member

Like Blazer said, there will be mappings somewhere you can load.  But this goal post (on Eggman's side anyway), that's all the art to it.  You just drew one side of the goal post.  In the game, the same side is remapped again, but is flipped, and then put together at the end, giving the illusion of the full post.  They did this to save space on the art.  I mean, the sign is symmetrical, so there's no point in them redrawing the second side.  They just used the first bit again and flipped it :)

With Sonic's art, the whole thing is drawn because it's not symmetrical, so they couldn't pull off the same trick.  Tails post however (in Sonic 2 at least), they did a mix of both:

[​IMG]