what I'll need to Hack Sonic 1?

Discussion in 'Discussion and Q&A Archive' started by alexanderthebat, Oct 11, 2015.

1. alexanderthebat

alexanderthebat Newcomer Trialist

Right now I'm gonna gather up an game idea to completely rewrite Sonic 1 using my own twist to it like rework the engine to making Sonic 1 my own game featuring two if possbile fan characters (one of mine and one of a friend) and a story to tie with it so what tools I'll need to completely rewrite sonic 1? (that is if I do make this happen I've doubt no one would like a fan character based game at all)

I'll need a disassembly tool of course and an assembly tool

some editors like level editors and so on.

now if I wanted to do a sonic 2 level and put it in sonic 1 is that possible or not? I'm pretty sure it's not possible to take a level like Chemical Plant Zone and stuff it in Sonic 1.

I'm also new to hacking Sonic 1 so if anyone is willing to collab with me that would be great!

2. Clownacy

Clownacy Retired Staff lolololo Member

It's outdated, but this contains some good information.

You generally don't want a disassembly tool like IDA, unless you feel like totally disassembling Sonic 1 yourself; rather, you'll want a pre-made disassembly. Unless you feel like using some old guides (since, at your level, you probably won't be able to port/adapt code for other disasms yet), I'd recommend the so-called Git(hub) Disasm, it has the code split into various files (which can be a good thing or a bad thing), and the code in general is more documented and thus easier to work with. On the inverse, if you want to follow old-fashioned guides like this, you'll need the Hivebrain 2005 disassembly (the link is for the asm68k version, which I recommend). You'll be giving up the 10 years of refinement the Git Disassembly's received, but you'll be using the same, unchanged disasm the people that wrote the guides used.